Menu Home Organizers Call for Papers Registration Sponsor

National Symposium on Rotor Dynamics

NSRD 2017 at IIT Patna

December 12th to 13th, 2017

Conference Programme

Rotor Dynamics being an important area of technology development from nano to macro scales with applications in MEMS, automotive turbochargers to high speed drives, power turbines and aircraft engines the applications are wide and critical. There is an ever increasing need for understanding new configuration of rotors and analysis methods. Because of this need for understanding rotor dynamics, National Symposium on Rotor Dynamics (NSRD) has started from the year 2003 and the first four symposia were held earlier at IIT Guwahati (2003), IIT Madras (2011), Dr. Ambedkar Institute of Technology, Bangalore (2014) and NIT Rourkela (2015). Fifth Symposium is being held at IIT Patna in 2017.

This symposium discusses various issues in the area of rotor dynamics with several invited talks by eminent people in this area. It also facilitates a platform for presentations on various developments in the area of rotor dynamics by several academic and indust rial delegates. Department of Mechanical Engineering and Department of Electrical Engineering are jointly hosting NSRD 2017.

Our Sponsors

About the Institute

Indian Institute of Technology Patna

Indian Institute of Technology Patna is one of the new IITs established by an Act of the Indian Parliament on August 06, 2008. The Institute has developed modern facilities that are fully equipped with the state-of-the-art facilities (equipment software and machinary) that are routinely used to train and educate students in different programs. IIT Patna has ten departments: Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Humanities and Social Science departments.

About the Departments

Department of Mechanical Engineering

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at IIT Patna aims to engage in the frontiers of the field and channelize the state-of-the-art knowledge to train personnel who can solve problems of relevance to the society at large.

Department of Electrical Engineering

The Department of Electrical Engineering at IIT Patna is committed to engage in high quality research and pursuit of excellence in teaching.
Visit department webpage

Scientific Advisory Committee

Prof. J. S. Rao, KCT, Coimbatore
Prof. K. Gupta, IIT Delhi
Prof. Alok Sinha, Pennsylvania State University
Prof. C. Nataraj, Villanova University
Prof. R. Rzadkowski, Institute of Fluid Flow Machinery, Polish Academy of Sciences
Dr. Jyoti K. Sinha, School of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering, The University of Manchester
Prof. J. Ojo, Chairman Electrical Drives, Tennessee Technological University
Prof. Nalinaksh S. Vyas, IIT Kanpur
Prof. A. Seshadri Sekhar, IIT Madras
Prof. Rajiv Tiwari, IIT Guwahati
Prof. A.K. Darpe, IIT Delhi
Prof. A.R. Mohanty, IIT Kharagpur

Dr. Navin Kumar, IIT Ropar
Prof. V. Arun Kumar, AIT Bangalore
Dr. S. Jana, Propulsion Division, NAL, Bangalore
Dr. V.S. Ganesh Kumar, NSTL
Prof. S.C. Sharma, IIT Roorkee
Prof. Prabir K. Sarkar, ISM Dhanbad
Sri S.P. Suresh Kumar, GTRE
Dr. Bhaskar Sarma, SRDS
Mr. Paul P. George, LPSC, ISRO, Trivandrum.
Mr. R. Sreenivas, Shell,Bangalore
Prof. J. Srinivas, NIT Rourkela
Mr. Sridhar U., Addl General Manager/ PEDM, Corp R&D, BHEL, Hyderabad
Dr. B. Chakrabarti, DGM, R&D, Hydrocarbons L&T

Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya , Director, IIT Patna

Dr. M Pathak, Head, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Mayank Tiwari, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. R.K. Behera, Electrical Engineering

Dr. Akhilendra Singh, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Karali Patra, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Sanjoy Kumar Parida, Electrical Engineering
Dr. Atul Thakur, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Chiranjit Sarkar, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Anirban Mahato, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. A. Bhattacharya, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. M.K. Khan, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. P. Saha, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. S. Sarangi, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. S. Sivasubramani, Electrical Engineering
Dr. S.S. Panda, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. R. Raj, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. S. Kumar, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. M. Imam, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. S. K. Paul, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. S. Siddapureddy, Mechanical Engineering

Call for Papers

Prospective authors are requested to submit abstracts of not more than 500 words with 6 keywords clearly mentioning the objectives and methodology. Indicate one of the below broad areas closest to the work submitted. Papers are invited from the following broad themes:

  1. Analytical, computational and Experimental methods
  2. Experimental and Simulation methods for rotating electric drives
  3. Nonlinear, parametric effects on rotor
  4. Misalignment, rotor-bow, crack, rub-impact analyses
  5. Bearings, dampers and seals
  6. Vibration control using active and semi active methods
  7. Condition monitoring of rotors
  8. High power rotating electrical drives
  9. Bladed disc systems
  10. Micro rotors and developments
  11. Any other relevant issues

Important Dates

Notification of Abstract Acceptance: September 10, 2017
Submission of Full-Length Paper for Review: October 25, 2017
Author Paper Review Complete: November 10, 2017
Submission of Final Paper: November 20, 2017

Registration for NSRD 2017

Welcome to NSRD 2017 Registration

Registration is now open:

Before November 1, 2017

Category Indians (₹) Others (US $)
Faculty from Academia 6,000 300
Delegates from Industries 8,000 500
Students 3,000 100

Late Registration:

After November 1, 2017

Category Indians (₹) Others (US $)
Faculty from Academia 8,000 350
Delegates from Industries 10,000 550
Students 4,000 150

Dear delegate, your payment includes: Delegate Kit, lunch (2 days), tea-snacks, and Conference dinner.
Payments: Payment should be made by wire-transfer (NEFT/RTGS) to the following Account.

For Indian transaction's:

  • Name of Bank A/c: NSRD 2017
  • Bank: State Bank of India
  • Account: 36996390487
  • Branch: IIT Patna, Bihta Campus, Bihar
  • Address: First floor, Administrative building, IIT Patna, Amhara, PS-Bihta, Patna - 801106
  • IFSC Code: SBIN0017164
For foreign transaction's:
  • IIT Patna IEC code number 0100000053
  • A/c No. : 36996390487
  • State Bank of India
  • Patna Main Branch
  • AD CODE : 0000152
  • IFSC CODE : SBIN0000152
After successful transaction, please email the transaction number along with the details to You will receive a confirmation email along with Registration Number.


Dr. Mayank Tiwari
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Patna, Bihta, India.
Phone: +91 6123028116


Sufficient rooms for students are available in the Institute hostels. Limited number of rooms are also avaiable for the Guests in the Institute Guest House. Hotel accomodation details in Bihta and Patna will be uploaded soon.


Nearest Airport is at Patna (31 KM). Cabs are available from Patna to the Venue.
Nearest Railway stations: Bihta (4 KM), Patna (35 KM), Dhanapur (23 KM).
Click here to get directions from your location